27 February - 5 April 2008

Ian McKeever

Assembly Paintings 2006-2007

"… painting represents a moving through: the figure is regained through abstraction, form is found through the painting, the canvas is a threshold, a door."

The works in the exhibition are from McKeever's Assembly series, which is one in a group of four series that collectively form the body of work, Four Quartets. McKeever began Four Quartets in 2001 and took the title from TS Eliot's poem of the same name. There are no literal connections or direct references to the poem within the works but the poem resonates within the paintings.

Quote: Martin Caiger-Smith in Ian McKeever The Space Between Words, 2007



Sign up for updates

Sign up to receive information about exhibitions, news and events.

Send an artwork enquiry

Enter your details and we will be in touch with further information about this artwork and available works by this artist.

Alternatively call us to discuss your enquiry.

Your details